Day 21: British TV Just Gets It, USA Take Notes

Here in London, our TV gets probably 30 channels. And on these 30 channels they pretty much only show15 different TV shows in total. These shows can be broken down into two distinctive categories:

Newer Shows: Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, X Factor, Top Gear, South Park, and probably 3-4 British soap opera-y shows comparable to the stuff girls watch on late night ABC family.

Older Shows: Boy Meets World, The Simpsons, Murder She Wrote (surprisingly entertaining), Friends, and Man vs. Food re-runs.

If not a TV show, they are constantly airing 1990’s movies. She’s All That, Goodfellas, 10 Things I Hate About You, Breakfast Club, American Pie, Clueless, and Varsity Blues are just a few that I’ve noticed so far.

I’m not even kidding when I say you can find one of those shows or movies on TV at any given time with about 75% certainty.

Ummm, British entertainment God, can you hear me? If you’re up there I just wanted to say NICE FUCKING WORK BUDDY! Keep your head up, stay golden, and keep doin’ you bro! This is literally the perfect way to do TV. Pick a couple proven good shows, sprinkle in some power 90’s teen flicks, put the mixture on shuffle, and just let the chips fall where they may.

I’ve gotten so used to American programing, and having 8,000 mediocre choices that try to call themselves television. Every time I flip through, I end up panicking, and make a last-second decision. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched Sportcenter, Law and Order or Pawn Stars because I couldn’t find one other decent thing to watch. But here, this is awesome. At any time, I can count on something watchable being on TV. It’s like British TV called me and was like “Hey bud, is it cool if we just toss on awesome nostalgic hot-fire 90’s flicks, and provenly good great TV?” Uhh, someone has been reading my diary…

So the point of this I guess is USA TV, take notes! No more pointless reality shows, stupid game shows, talk shows with non-celebrities, or documentaries about has-been/never were losers. Just leave the entertainment to Mr. Feeny, Eric Cartman, Barney Stinson, Sheldon Cooper, Homer Simpson, Jeremy Clarkson, and movies that defined the greatest decade/generation of all time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

